beating jet lag

For those not in the know, I’ve been in China the last two months, studying Mandarin at Peking University for 6 weeks, followed by 10 days of travel in Yunan Province and Shanghai. The trip was a blast, and if you check my Facebook profile, you can see tons of pictures.

What’s amazing is that I haven’t really suffered from jet lag. I remember coming back from Germany once and needing 4-5 days to readjust. This time, however, it was as if I didn’t skip a beat — I fell asleep at midnight, and then easily woke up to my alarm at 9:00AM. According to Wikipedia (which I’m allowed to look at now), I should have suffered from 24 – 15 = 9 hours of jet lag. My mother kept telling me to drink plenty of water on the plane, so I did. Apparently dehydration is a symptom of jet lag, and I wonder if that makes you more tired once you get back. I was definitely tempted to take long naps, but I managed to fight it off.

In other news, I took care of some errands, and even managed to play tennis today. I also had time to go to the Coliseum to see the A’s beat the Mariners 4-0. Still have to pack my stuff for my move tomorrow to Mountain View, however. Then shortly after, the next phase of my life will begin: work.

Update: The next night, I woke up at 4 am, due to my father’s being an early riser.  The light woke me up, and I couldn’t go back to sleep afterwards.  I still woke up at 11, which isn’t too bad.  Last night, I fell asleep at 2 and woke up at noon.  It’s almost as if I’m reverting to my college sleep schedule, which isn’t exactly what I want.

One Response to beating jet lag

  1. Char says:

    Maybe you should add an addendum about your following day.

Leave a Reply

