Project n^2: Why CIA? Revisited

I showed the post below to my roommate Chris, who suggested to make this more personal, and to go deeper. To address those points, I will “rewrite” the post below.

I’ve been fascinated lately with Sudoku. Playing Sudoku has changed my routine enough that I’ll usually visit websudoku.com even before eating breakfast. Last month, I was waiting at the doctor’s office, and I noticed an older woman pull a Sudoku book out of her purse and start playing. That’s when I knew it became a movement. Walk into any bookstore, and you’ll notice all the books dedicated to this simple crossword game. Besides playing, I’ve attempted to become a student of the game, playing only hard puzzles and learning about X-Wing and Swordfish, some of the more advanced Sudoku strategies.

Why is Sudoku so popular? There are probably a ton of factors at play here. Clearly, the game is addictive because like most great games, the rules are simple yet the puzzle is challenging. Solving the game requires only logic and patience, not a great memory of pop culture. When playing the game, there’s definitely a sense that finding the solution requires skill. The game is foreign, originating from Japan, where the Western style of crossword puzzle doesn’t really work.

With most fads, it’s easy to point out some factors that appear to trigger success. Figuring out beforehand whether a trend will take off or not is much harder. Thus, what I would like to get out of CIA is a framework for analyzing current trends. More specifically, at the end of the quarter, I would like to see what appears to be a “trend”, go through some step-by-step analysis and then finally be able to have a sense of whether that trend is sustainable.

One Response to Project n^2: Why CIA? Revisited

  1. Isaac says:

    Try ironsudoku.com. Great interface.

Leave a Reply

